Development Authority / Main Street Board of Directors

  1. Program Board of Directors positions to be filled

    As a Main Street Community, the city utilizes its Development Authority/Main Street Program for economic development and preservation projects with partners. There is a voting position open on the Board of Directors... Read on...
View All
Image does not exist
Tybee Classic Main Street logo

Vision Statement

The Vision of the Program is to improve the quality of life for those that live, work, and visit Tybee Island and enhance the cultural experience while preserving the community's barrier island heritage.

This Vision is achievable through the Director’s commitment to the National Main Street Four-Point Approach® of historic preservation-based economic development that balances design, business assistance, promotion, and organization with established committees and partners that represent each point.

This effort takes support and assistance from all. Therefore, Committees and Partners help with the foundation of the proven Main Street Four-Point Approach tailored to meet local needs and opportunities in a balanced, self-sustaining manner.  Click here for Program details.

Board Overview

Tybee Island Mayor and City Council activated the Tybee Island Downtown Development Authority (DDA) by Resolution on August 14, 2014. The geographical boundaries of the Authority are within city limits, not just the downtown area. Therefore, the name of the Authority is referred to as the Tybee Island Development Authority / Main Street Program ("Program"). Directors of the Program also serve as the Tybee Island Main Street Board of Directors. The Program By-Laws can be read by clicking the link below.

The program is governed by seven (7) Directors appointed by City Council and four (4) Ex-Officio Members. Directors work with local and state partners to provide technical assistance and financial opportunities with incentives, as available, that encourage quality growth and development while preserving Tybee Island's unique architectural and community heritage.


The Tybee Island Development Authority / Main Street Board of Directors is comprised of seven (7) Council appointed Directors that are representatives which have an economic interest within city limits, one of which is a City Council member, in accordance with the approved Resolution (PDF) and By-Laws (PDF) for the Program. A maximum of four (4) Ex-Officio Members may be appointed to serve for a two-year term by a majority vote of the Directors. An Ex-Officio member shall represent the business community, non-profit organization, and / or be a full-time resident of Tybee Island.
  • Tim Arnold
    Affiliation: Tybee Clean Beach Volunteers
    Position:  Ex Officio
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Sarah Bernzott
    Affiliation: The Tybee Tourist
    Committee Liaison: Promotions
    Term Expires: 2021
  • Angela Caldwell
    Affiliation: Caldwell's Cottage Monogramming
    Position: Ex Officio
    Term Expires: 2019
  • Vicki Hammons
    Affiliation: Lighthouse Pizza
    Position: Vice Chair
    Committee Liaison: Design
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Julie Livingston 
  • Affiliation: City Council
    Term Expires: 2020

  • Ted Lynch
    Affiliation: Accountants on Tybee
    Position: Chair
    Committee Liaison: Business Assistance
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Melissa Memory
    Affiliation: Tybee Island Tourism Council, Ft. Pulaski
    Position: Ex-Officio
    Term Expires: 2019
  • Kelly Swope 
    Affiliation: Kelly & Company
    Position: Ex-Officio
    Term Expires: 2019
2018 BOD banner pic 9

Agenda and Minutes

See all board related materials, including approved meeting minutes, on our WebLink archives.

Meeting Calendar